Updates – 2/23/2017

Hey guys. For now, I’ll be pausing any developments for my stealth game as I’ll be shifting my focus to creating my survival horror game.

As of today, I’ve learned new things about how GMS works, especially in the camera department. If you’ve downloaded the prototype that I’ve uploaded last time, you’ll notice that the camera never moves. This time, I’ve learned how to center the camera on the character (like the old Pokemon games). This discovery (disclaimer: laugh all you want, but little discoveries and like this are a very big deal to me; remember that I have ZERO coding/programming experience) finally enables me to create large rooms that allow for a scrolling view (again, just like the old Pokemon games). I’ve also started creating sprites (this time non-polygonal) to be used for my games.

Also, just today, I have started conceptualizing my survival horror game. It would be based on my town (ideally), and would have a story and gameplay like Silent Hill 2’s (best video game narrative EVER). Before you start gathering your pitchforks, I would just like to acknowledge that this game would be created like a tribute (hence, the similarities), but with enough different features and themes to hopefully distinguish it from SH2.I first planned this game to be somehow linear, but decided to try and make it somewhat of an open world game, with little stories sprinkled throughout the town that the player could optionally uncover (in other words, sidequests). See, I told you guys that this would have different features than SH2. Also, in SH2, James had a paper map of the town, but in this game, the player character would instead have a smartphone (like Harry in Silent Hill Shattered Memories) which functions as the map (GPS) and would also be able to receive texts from other characters in order to progress the story. Sounds ambitious? You bet your ass it is. Hopefully, I’ll be able to deliver.

For my next post, I’ll be talking about more updates, as well as the town that my survival horror game’s setting would be based on. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

