Learning Process

I spent my entire Saturday trying to progress on Laketown (Laketown would be my horror game’s title placeholder from now on), and I gotta say, making assets is so damn hard!

I tried making a walking animation for my character and it took all morning, and I’ve only made one for when my character is walking sideways. The end result? It’s nowhere near as desirable as I’d like it to be. It’s not even NES-level jittery. I guess I would have to postpone any efforts in fully animating my characters for now.

The next thing that I tried to do is create the very first indoor environment for the game, and I think that this is the only thing that I got almost right (it’s about 65% nicely done, since I gotta make performance efficient). In it, the main character is to find a letter from his SO. I set it so that a collision between the letter and the player character would change the game’s current room to another one which displays only the contents of the letter. To return to the previous room, I added an invisible object which would do just that if a certain button is pressed. It may not seem much, but I’m proud of that. However, I’d like to set it up so that the contents of the letter would only pop up on top of the main game room, but for now, this would have to do. That’s how Silent Hill 1 does it anyway.

In the room is another object which would take the player character outside of the room, also upon contact(this is what real, non-digital people refer to as a “door”), to the apartment’s yard. Oh yeah, did I tell you that I’ve also made another asset for the yard? Okay, so I’ve also created the yard of the apartment which would serve as another game room. I’ve created the background BEFORE ANY KNOWLEDGE OF TILES (so sue me), so I’ve basically set a huge picture (I don’t know guys, is 440*800 huge by GMS standards?) as the whole background for that room. The end result? It takes a long fucking time to transition between the two rooms (the indoor and the yard) and I think that this is the problem. So what will be the consequences? I think that I might have to fucking redo the whole shizzle. The shizzle that I spent a day making.

Am I disappointed? Yes. Do I think that I just wasted an entire day doing nothing? No. At least I’ve learned about the sprite storage tab in the global settings of GMS. And tiles (although I haven’t really figured them all out).

About the setting of the game, yeah, maybe I’ll put that on hold first. I’ll work first in improving how the game works. Wouldn’t want you guys to say that I’m just all talk and concepts. So that’t it for now. Bye!

Leave a Reply

